• Facebook Social Icon

Member Since 2016

manatee_chamber_of_commerce_florida_2019

Member Since 2017

Florida State Statute 538.26 Certain acts and practices prohibited

 

It is unlawful for a secondary metals recycler to do or allow any of the following acts:

(1) Purchase regulated metals property, restricted regulated metals property, or ferrous metals before 7 a.m. or after 7 p.m.

(2) Purchase regulated metals property, restricted regulated metals property, or ferrous metals from any seller who presents such property for sale at the registered location of the secondary metals recycler when such property was not transported in a motor vehicle.

(3) Purchase regulated metals property, restricted regulated metals property, or ferrous metals from any location other than a fixed location.

(4) Purchase regulated metals property from a seller who:

         (a) Uses a name other than his or her own name or the registered name of the seller’s business;

         (b) Is younger than 18 years of age; or

         (c) Is visibly or apparently under the influence of drugs or alcohol

 

Florida State Statute 538.23 Violations and penalties.

 

(3) Any person who knowingly gives false verification of ownership or who gives a false or altered identification and who receives money or other consideration from a secondary metals recycler in return for regulated metals property commits:

 

(a) A felony of the third degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082, s. 775.083, or s. 775.084, if the value of the money or other consideration received is less than $300.

 

(b) A felony of the second degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082, s. 775.083, or s. 775.084, if the value of the money or other consideration received is $300 or more.

 

 

Manatee County Ordinance Ord. No. 12-13, § 1, 2-28-12

 

Sec. 2-19-52. - Notice to sellers

 

ANY REGULATED METALS OR RESTRICTED REGULATED METALS PROPERTY TO ANY SECONDARY METALS RECYCLER MUST PRESENT THE FOLLOWING: A CURRENT, VERIFIABLE, GOVERNMENT-ISSUED PHOTOGRAPHIC IDENTIFICATION CARD, SIGNATURE, PHOTOGRAPH AND LEGIBLE THUMBPRINT. ANY PERSON WHO VIOLATES THIS REQUIREMENT MAY BE COMMITTING A FELONY UNDER SEC. 538.19, FLA. STAT. ANY PERSON WHO VIOLATES THIS REQUIREMENT MAY BE COMMITTING A MISDEMEANOR UNDER THE MANATEE COUNTY CODE OF ORDINANCES.